top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaseball Australia


Australia’s pathway in the 2024 Women’s World Cup of Baseball has been revealed.

Australia will be one of six teams placed in Group A with Canada, USA, Mexico and two qualifiers coming from the upcoming Asian Women’s Baseball Championship.

The Emeralds will battle the competition in Group A action in Thunder Bay, Canada in August 2023. Group B will take part in Japan in September.

Unlike other years and editions of the World Cup, this competition will take place over two years.

The Top Two teams from each group, plus two wild cards, will advance to the final group stage in August 2024 where the competition will return to Thunder Bay to determine the World Champion.

The 2024 tournament will be the ninth edition of the Women’s Baseball World Cup. Australia has traditionally fared well at the World Cup. They’ve finished in the Top 4 on six occasions with their best result being a silver medal in 2010.

For the full release from WBSC click here.

Group A draw

Group B draw


  • Two groups of six teams each will compete in 2023. One group is in Thunder Bay, Canada and the other is in Miyoshi City, Japan.

  • The Top 2 of each group will advance to the final group in 2024. These games will be played in Thunder Bay in August 2024 where the crown of World Champion will be awarded.

  • GROUP A: Canada, USA, Australia, Mexico, Asian Qualifier 2, Asian Qualifier 3

  • GROUP B: Japan, Venezuela, Cuba, Puerto Rico, France, Asian Qualifier 1

160 views0 comments


bottom of page