top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaseball Australia


The Australian Women’s World Cup team face a difficult but exciting challenge as the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) announced the group formats for the Women’s Baseball World Cup tournament in 2023.

The WBSC announced a new format that will see the Women’s Baseball World Cup played under a two – stage schedule resulting in 30 games during the group stage. Two groups (A & B) will play in Thunder Bay Canada (Group A) and Miyoshi City Japan (Group B) across August and September 2023. At the end of the Group Stage each group’s top-two finishers will qualify for the 2024 Finals in Thunder Bay plus two Wild Card Teams.

Number 8 ranked Australia has been placed in Group A to be hosted in Thunder Bay, Canada, from 8 to 13 August, along with No. 3 Canada; No. 4 USA; No. 10 Korea; No. 11 Hong Kong, China; and No. 12 Mexico.

The 3rd ranked Canada and 4th ranked USA will provide the biggest challenges to Australia, who’ll be seeking early wins to guarantee a top 2 finish and an automatic bid to the Championship series in 2024.

SportsLink, Baseball Australia’s preferred travel partner, invites you to support the Emeralds in their 2023 Group A World Cup tournament in Thunder Bay, Canada. event hub – click here. WBSC event hub – click here.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page