top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaseball Australia


The 2023 Australian Women’s and Youth Women’s Championships proudly hosted by Baseball Victoria at the Melbourne Ballpark have concluded with outstanding performances, commitment, enthusiasm, and spirit. With an upcoming Women’s World Cup looming in August, the event proved to be a showcase for team selection and a snapshot into the future of Women’s baseball in Australia.

Western Australia was crowned champions in 2023, defeating Victoria in the Gold Medal game. The two teams finished at the top of the table after the round robin, so it was fitting they squared off in the championship contest. With a team average of .401, the WA offense was explosive, led by Golden Bat recipient, Leah Cornish. Victoria was equally fierce across the tournament plating 81 runs in 7 games.

In the gold medal game, it was WA starting pitcher, Yuuki Ishikawa, who was the star of the show. Ishikawa went the distance, allowing only 3 runs while striking out 5 as she led her squad to the title.

Champions: Western Australia

2nd: Victoria

3rd: South Australia

Championship Award Winners:

Golden Glove: Hannah Marshall (QLDM)

Golden Bat: Leah Cornish (WA)

Golden Arm: Abbey Kelly (VIC)

MVP: Yuuki Ishikawa (WA)

On the youth side of the tournament, Queensland rolled through the qualifiers with an undefeated record (6-0) and an almost clean sweep of the major awards. Led by tournament MVP, Molly Paddison, who dominated on both sides of the ball, the QLD team was insurmountable in the gold medal game, defeating NSW 15-2.

Champions: Queensland

2nd: New South Wales

3rd: Victoria

Championship Award Winners:

Golden Glove: Holly Moellers (QLD)

Golden Bat: Lily McKenner (VIC)

Golden Arm: Paula Doherty (QLD)

MVP: Molly Paddison (QLD)

No More Day:

Baseball Australia has supported NO MORE since 2014 and continues to link up to say NO MORE to domestic and family violence. Once again, the AWC and AYWC tournaments showed great passion for the cause, with players and coaches wearing orange socks and linking arms before each game to show their support.

To link in with No More Day, the Spirit of the Game Award is awarded to one player from each team that displays the values and attributes of fair play, teamwork, community and team respect, and their behaviour on-and-off the field is one that others should follow.

Congratulations to our 2023 AWC Award Recipients! Scorer - Enza Henty Umpire - Janine Thompson WA - Georgia Butler VIC - Gabby Bevan SA - Carly Moore QLDW - Kate Deegan QLDM - Jessica Holland NSW - Sayaka Mori NSWC - Beatrix Cobon

Congratulations to our 2023 AYWC Award Recipients! SA - Sienna Thiele NSW - Alyssa Frame QLD - Claire Gaterra VIC - Athena Koulis WA - Mai Kajita

View the tournament results and stats on GameChanger:

317 views0 comments


bottom of page